The 13th Forest Burn Fell Race, Sunday 10th August 2008, 2pm

The 13th Forest Burn Fell Race

The show may have been cancelled but such a minor point was never going to stop the fell race. The course was altered to the original Tomlinson route, which is a bit quicker than the new Horsley route, to encourage some new course records. And we weren't to be disappointed, with local star Nick Swinburn taking over 90 seconds off the old record which had stood since 1999. Even if Nick had been asked to do a couple of laps of the showground and a few somersaults he would still have beaten it. This is surely a record that will stand for a long time now. Unsurprisingly Nick led from start to finish with only the occasional glimpse of him visible to the chasing pack. There was quite a battle for second place, with Horsley's youth just enough to edge it from team mate P Sanderson who graciously encouraged Horsley onwards when he had faltered exiting the burn. This made it a 1-2-3 for NFR. In the women's race Robertson had an equally comfortable time at the front but did not improve on her own course record. Every finisher received a bottle of beer and a chocolate bar, which seemed most welcome after the drenching we received during the race. See you all next year!

Results on following page

The 13th Forest Burn Fell Race, Sunday 10th August 2008, 2pm

Position	Name	Club	Age		Mins	Secs	
1	Nick Swinburn	NFR	20	М	19	25	New course record
2	Will Horsley	NFR	29	М	21	7	
3	Phil Sanderson	NFR	40	М	21	16	1st MV40
4	Paul Whalley	Blyth RC	35	М	22	18	
5	Chris Eddis	Keswick AC	25	М	22	41	
6	Tim McCall	Norham AC	47	М	22	47	2nd MV40
7	Brendan Jackson	Allen Valley Striders	40	М	22	54	3rd MV40
8	Keith Murray	Teviotdale	44	М	23	8	
9	John Woods	Morpeth Harriers	20	М	23	18	
10	Geoff Scott	NFR	49	М	23	31	
11	John Duff	NFR	39	М	24	32	
12	Les Turnbull	Norham AC	53	М	24	36	1st MV50
13	Brian Robson	unattached	41	М	24	54	
14	Karen Robertson	NFR	39	F	24	57	First female
15	Mike Telfer	unattached	37	М	24	59	
16	Tim Allsop	S'land Strollers	39	М	25	8	
17	Rob Stephens	NFR	47	М	25	10	
18	Ed Mitchell	unattached	46	М	25	25	
19	Michael Sanderson	Allen Valley Striders	33	М	25	36	
20	Phil Green	NFR	40	М	25	50	
21	Greg Swinburn	Morpeth Harriers	17	М	26	5	
22	Peter Darke	S'land Strollers	47	М	26	8	
23	Clare Jackson	Allen Valley Striders	45	F	26	13	Second female
24	Allon Welsh	NFR	44	М	26	31	
25	Dave Logan	Blyth RC	38	М	26	34	
26	George Nicholson	unattached	27	М	26	50	
27	Wilf Hutchinson	FRA	55	М	27	4	2nd MV50
28	Kyle Shaw	FRA	21	М	27	15	
29	Graham Fraser	Allen Valley Striders	59	М	27	16	3rd MV50
30	Dean Robson	S'land Strollers	35	М	29	4	
31	Celia Sanderson	Allen Valley Striders	40	F	29	14	Third female
32	Hedley Herron	unattached	50	М	29	29	
33	Dave Coxon	NFR	38	М	29	33	
34	Terry Hart	NFR	60	М	29	36	1st MV60
35	Robert Strachan	unattached	23	М	29	40	
36	John Woodward	S'land Strollers	53	М	29	49	
37	Peter Whewell	North Yorks Moors AC	61	М	30	4	2nd MV60
38	Philip Bell	Allen Valley Striders	43	М	30	12	
39	Phil Owens	Elvet Striders	42	М	31	30	
40	Paul Eddis	unattached	23	М	36	10	
41	Sue Bell	Allen Valley Striders	46	F	36	20	
42	Lesley Foster	S'land Strollers	39	F	43	23	